Skip to content

Rat Chat Reviews: MR. DUCK MEANS BUSINESS

2011 February 10

Hi Rat Chatters!

Welcome Back to RAT CHAT! Not only a blog — but a show.

Stanley here — along with Morris, offering up for CHAT a newly released picture book, MR. DUCK MEANS BUSINESS, by Tammi Sauer and illustrated by Jeff Mack. Morris and I think you will not only enjoy the humor in this story geared for ages 4-8, but also appreciate its valued lessons on friendship of which, as Morris says, “we can all partake.”

According to Ms. Sauer, in one of her revealing interviews, the original concept  for this story had neither a duck or a pond! She confided that after several rejections of that manuscript, she ‘tweaked’ the main character as well as changed the setting. The lady tweaked herself a hit!

Says Kirkus: “Sauer’s…disciplined duck and his rhyming hissy fits will most definitely entertain. Mack’s furry and feathered wide-eyed animals rendered in ebullient acrylic are a great match for this fine farmyard fable.”

You ‘chatters’ know the drill — watch our book chat, (hear me croon a tune on this one!), find out what Morris gives the old Cheese-O-Meter, and we’ll catch you on the other side.

Win a free copy of this charmer by leaving a comment. (Hey, how simple is that? And, F  R  E  E Free!) The winning ‘entry’ will be selected by a non-partial and blindfolded Morris at the end of the month.

An ‘egg-gatherer’ in her Kansas youth, Tammi Sauer, former teacher and media specialist, is the award-winning author of a growing number of popular picture books, including MOSTLY MONSTERLY, illustrated by Scott Magoon, named A Scholastic Parent & Child “Best Book” for 2010; COWBOY CAMP, illustrated by Mike Reed; and the funny Elvis riff, CHICKEN DANCE, illustrated by Dan Santat.  Looks like we will be treated to more laughs from those chicks Marge and Lola in the new ‘Dance’ road tour, BAWK AND ROLL coming this fall 2011.  Morris and I are looking forward to chatting about that one, thank you … thank you very much. And word on the street is that a new book titled, ME WANT A PET, with illustrator Bob Shea is in the works.

The talented Jeff Mack, a self-proclaimed “pinball, robot, and haunted house lover”, is the illustrator of more than a dozen books including BOO BUNNY, written by Kathryn O. Galbraith;  the BUNNICULA series by James Howe; his own HUSH LITTLE POLAR BEAR, and the newly published early-reader, HIPPO AND RABBIT.

For another story on ‘mannerly behavior’, Morris and I recommend for your amusement, and good reading, that you check out Laurie Keller’s DO UNTO OTTERS. Good stuff.  She’s one of our personal faves.

That’s it for now — from here!  Grab a copy of MR. DUCK MEANS BUSINESS and enjoy.

For Morris, this is Stanley signing off saying, “So long — and see you next CHAT!

55 Responses leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011

    Oh, how adorable! Please enter me.

  2. February 10, 2011

    We are huge Tammi Sauer fans! Thanks for the entry!

  3. February 10, 2011

    Thanks for having Mr. Duck on your blog/show!

    This is cooler than Oprah.

    • February 10, 2011

      Thanks, Ms. Sauer — Applause to you. Hope you stay tuned and friend us.
      Stanley and Morris

  4. Jan Bost permalink
    February 10, 2011

    Tammi Sauer is my hero!

  5. Flora Doone permalink
    February 10, 2011

    Yous rats sound like a cupla cuzins I got in da bronx, only smahta! I like a good duck story. I give yous guys a big hunka cheese!

    • February 10, 2011

      Well thank you, Flora Doone. Maybe we know your cuzins. We get around.
      Stay tuned for more chat — friend us — so you don’t miss a woid –or more of Stanley’s croonin’.

  6. February 10, 2011

    I want Mr. Duck Means Business!!! My son is just learning to say, “Duck” as well as “Truck” and both of them come out “Guck”.

  7. February 10, 2011

    Hilarious! Would love to get a copy of this in our house!

  8. Susan Manzke permalink
    February 10, 2011

    Your books are so much fun. I’d love to win one.

  9. Maria Simon permalink
    February 10, 2011

    Love your show Stanley and Morris!
    Tammi Sauer is awesome!

  10. February 10, 2011

    Fun blog, fun review!

    • February 10, 2011

      Hey, thank you there, Rachel. Appreciate your comment. Us rats need all the compliments we can get.

  11. February 10, 2011

    This is awesome. Hilarious! And I happen to love this book. Gooooo Mr. Duck! And applause for these brilliant rats!

  12. February 10, 2011

    This book sounds terrific! I’d love to have it for my nephew!

  13. Theresa D. Love permalink
    February 11, 2011

    I’m having Tammi for an author visit in the Fall. I think the students will really love her books :) Enter me for a chance to win a free copy. Thanks! I love the show!

  14. February 11, 2011

    Yeah for Tammi! As we say down here in Texas when we’re playin’ Hold ‘Em…I’m all in! (for this contest!)

  15. Deborah Bates Cavitt permalink
    February 11, 2011

    Mr. Duck needs to be our President. Morris, I have a cousin named Morris and as he got older he became Mo. Really good lookin’ like you.

    • February 11, 2011

      Stanley here — Morris is too shy and reserved to reply, but he thanks you for the compliment and is blushing a deeper lavender.

  16. February 11, 2011

    Have really enjoyed Tammi’s past books thoroughly and look forward checking this one out!

  17. Judy H. permalink
    February 11, 2011

    Loved the blog review! I enjoyed meeting Tammi recently at a conference, and I can’t wait to read Mr. Duck Means Business! :)

    • February 11, 2011

      Thanks, Judy. Love that you love it. We’re always here chattin’ books, so stay with us. And yes, Duck is a good duck.

  18. February 11, 2011

    Just LOVE the comments from the rat gallery <3 What fun! I'm a fan!

  19. Laura permalink
    February 11, 2011

    Cute book! Love Rat Chat!
    enter me too! : )

  20. Linda Dimmer permalink
    February 11, 2011

    To Stanley and Morris, I think Rat Chat should take over Oprah’s spot when her show ends!
    To Tammi, my boys and I LOVE your books! Your book trailers are fabulous! I hope Duck flies into our house! :)

  21. February 11, 2011

    I am a fan! Tammi’s newest book looks adorable. Please enter me.

    • February 12, 2011

      But did you like when Stanley crooned a tune?– That’s the real question! You’re in the Sauer-Hopper for the book.
      Tell Meghan Rose ‘hi’ from us.

  22. February 11, 2011

    Love it!

  23. Judy Bryan permalink
    February 11, 2011

    Tammi Sauer ROCKS! And so does Rat Chat!! :)

  24. February 11, 2011

    What a fun review! What a fun book! I would love to be entered to win, and I will definitely be back to see more from you two lovely rats.

  25. February 12, 2011

    I own “Chicken Dance” and I can’t wait to own “Mr. Duck Means Business.” Hope I win! :)

  26. February 12, 2011

    Thanks for this fantastic interview. I love Tammi’s other picture books, and can’t wait to read Mr. Duck Means Business. :)

    • February 12, 2011

      Morris and I will surely be revisiting Ms. Sauer’s work in the future. Stay tuned for more ‘Chat’.
      And catch our other previous reviews — right here for your perusal — on this RAT CHAT ‘STATION’.

  27. February 12, 2011

    I mean business! I wanna win. :)

    • February 12, 2011

      Morris and I like your work, Mrs. Bowe. We also appreciate your little website graphic on how to pronounce your name.
      Helpful. Very helpful.

  28. February 20, 2011

    With so many cool and catchy comments to compete with, what can I say that would be unique? Except that with a surname like Finke, the Rat Chat family should feel quite at home with my books.

    Margot (Rat) Finke – Books for Kids & Manuscript Critiques
    http://www.margotfinke.com
    Margot’s Magic Carpet
    http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

  29. February 21, 2011

    My copy should be arriving soon, so don’t enter me…just wanted to say I love the Rat Chat reviews!

  30. TMarie permalink
    February 21, 2011

    This is the first time I’ve heard of Rat Chat! Fantastic! Tammi’s story is adorable! And the illustrations are delightful! Can’t wait to add it to my collection!

    • February 21, 2011

      Thank you. Like Tammi’s Mr. Duck says, ‘life needs a little noise’. Stanley and I are happy to contribute.

  31. Marcy permalink
    February 22, 2011

    My first- but not my last- visit to ratchatreviews. I love it!

  32. Dana permalink
    February 23, 2011

    This is my first time visiting the Rat Chat. I will be back! Very fun. Love you guys.

    I’d love to read this book and get a closer look at the illustrations. Congrats to Tammi Sauer & Jeff Mack.

  33. Valerie Lawson permalink
    February 23, 2011

    Fantastic show! That was my first Rat Chat, but it will not be my last – love the singing. You couldn’t have picked a better subject than Tammi. She’s amazing.

  34. Bitsy Galaska permalink
    March 1, 2011

    I agree with you fellas..a lack of well groomed grass means trouble! Loved the review!

  35. Denise Vazzano permalink
    March 4, 2011

    Rat Chat will replace Oprah for me. I love these guys.

  36. Dana DeLellis permalink
    March 9, 2011

    What a fabulous way to get kids & adults interested in books. I’m hooked! Those crazy, cute reviews are very entertaining!

  37. April 11, 2011

    We’ve been following Tammy Sauer on FB and were happy to discover Rat Chat. Will visit again soon, thanks!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Rat Chat Reviews: MR. DUCK MEANS BUSINESS | Rat Chat Reviews -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS