Skip to content

Rat Chat reviews: FERRET FUN

2011 April 16
by ratchatreviews

Hi Chatters!

Here’s an entertaining new book for young emerging readers presented in a fresh graphic-panel format.  FERRET FUN, by Karen Rostoker-Gruber , illustrated by Paul Ratz de Tagyos, and published by Marshall Cavendish, focuses on two ferrets and one very hungry cat who has eyes — and a grumbling tummy — for her “double rat snack-pack” until the ferrets stand up to the feline bully. This is one kitty who learns that ferrets may be more fun to play with than to eat!

Grab a pack of raisins, put your feet up, and enjoy the Chat!  We’ll see you on the other side.

 

Check out the real ‘Marvel’, ‘Fudge and Einstein’ at Karen’s website!

The author  has downloadable teacher study guides and student worksheets for FERRET FUN focussing on the important and timely subject of bullying. WIN an Author Autographed Copy of this book by just leaving a comment!  We’ll select the lucky winner in a few weeks!

Ms. Rostoker-Gruber is also the author of Rooster Can’t Cock-a-doodle-doo, illustrated by Mr. Ratz de Tagyos, and Bandit, and Bandit’s Surprise, illustrated by Vincent Nguyen. Mr. Nguyen was a contributor to the task of creating a children’s book on one of this season’s episodes of Celebrity Apprentice — check out the video!

 

Make new friends —  keep reading — enjoy your raisins — and we’ll see all of you regular ‘chatters’ again on our next RAT CHAT!

 

15 Responses leave one →
  1. April 16, 2011

    Thanks for the kind words for “The Genius Files.” You’ll be happy to hear that in #2, Coke and Pep will get cheeseheads in Wisconsin and use them to get out of a very sticky situation. I wish I could tell you more. You’ll have to wait until January.
    Cheers,
    Dan Gutman
    http://www.dangutman.com

    • April 16, 2011

      January!!! Can’t wait to find out about those Cheeseheads! We’ll be reading!
      Stanley and Morris

  2. April 16, 2011

    Great story for kids of all ages that need some coping confidence ideas in standing up to the the bullying menaces in their lives – whoever and wherever they might be. A big ‘Yes’, for ‘Ferret Fun’!!

  3. April 16, 2011

    Looking forward to having fun with those ferrets, whether I win the contest or not! Thanks for another entertaining review, Stanley & Morris! Will be in touch soon regarding my little hedgehog, who is soon to go to kindergarten in my book with Scholastic.

  4. April 16, 2011

    Thanks for another great review. Please enter us in your contest!

    Thanks ~ BookBlogFun

  5. Sandy B. permalink
    April 17, 2011

    Stanley and Morris, once again you give rats a good name (ahem, not that they need any image improvement)! Love Ferret Fun, the format, the vocal interpretations, and your masterful critique. What a lively addition these two ferrets and a cat would be to my collection (hint, hint…). The only thing I could criticize about Rat Chat is the anticipation between episodes. Then again, each is worth waiting for, like waiting for fine cheese to age!

    • April 17, 2011

      You are making us blush a deep lavender again, Sandy. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.)

  6. April 18, 2011

    Really cute and smart. Kids love ferrets, and I love the fresh, graphic illustrations. Thanks for sharing, Stanley and Morris!

  7. Karen permalink
    April 20, 2011

    Can’t wait to have a signed copy of Ferret Fun in my hands!

  8. shelley cohen permalink
    April 20, 2011

    Great story about the ferrets & the cat. Excellent message to young kids about bullying and confidence!
    AS well I really enjoyed the review!

  9. Margret permalink
    April 21, 2011

    This a wonderful animal book. It shows that everyone can work and play together. The chat group makes the story come alive.
    Keep up the great work.Need to see more books like this.

  10. Earl permalink
    April 21, 2011

    The review was very entertaining. The ferrets were hilarious as was the dialogue.Standing up to a bully is a great topic.Looking forward to a sequel.

  11. Peggy permalink
    April 24, 2011

    Karen has visited our school several times and is always great with the students. Can’t wait to read this new book.

  12. April 25, 2011

    A great looking book. Love the graphic novel/comic book format in books for very young readers. Your review is hilarious, as always, and makes me want to read the book asap.

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS